Skip to content

Summer School

welcoming Jazz players of all styles and traditions who want to extend their skills

NYJC’s Summer School is for England’s most gifted and talented young jazz musicians aged 14-18 year. We welcome players of all styles, traditions and instruments who are ready to extend their interactive improvisation and compositional skills – developing your level of ability and confidence through an exciting and eclectic programme of improvised music, supported by inspirational world class guidance.

How it works

Summer School

We offer 45 places on the 6-day Summer School to students aged 14 –18.

Summer school students will be selected to play in one of five nine-piece combos guided by 11 of the nation’s leading jazz educators (all internationally renowned performers!).

You’ll also get one-to-one tuition and masterclasses – all designed to develop your ear and broaden your improvisation, composition and spontaneous arranging skills.

At the end of the week all five combos perform a stunning public concert in the wonderful 315-seater ‘400 Hall’.

Cost: Summer School registration fee is £480*.

Summer Short Course

We offer 35 places on the 3-day Summer Short Course to students aged 14 –18.

The Short Course offers a similar experience to applicants demonstrating great talent but needing an extra boost of jazz support to be ready for next year’s NYJC Summer School.

Cost: The Short Course registration fee is £360*.

* Financial help:

We don’t want anyone to miss out because they cannot afford the fees. So NYJC offers means-tested bursaries for those needing financial help which can include covering the full costs of the course enrolment fee and transport costs to our free auditions and summer school or short course.

All summer school/summer short course students are chosen via our audition process which is free to everyone.


NYJC’s 13-day national audition tour will take place 1-19 April 2021.

The 2021 NYJC Summer School and Summer Short Course will take place at Repton School between:

22-28 August 2021 
Summer School

26-29 August 2021
Summer Short Course

2021 Tutors

NYJC’s multi-award-winning Artistic Director Issie Barratt will be leading a stellar team of world-class teaching artists – the personnel will be announced in our December newsletter and on the website in late December.

Email News