Skip to content

BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year 2020

Huge NYJC congratulations to Deschanel Gordon – 2020’s BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year and a hearty NYJC congratulations to the five NYJC alumni that got through to the semi-finals (Alex Clarke, Asha Parkinson, Emma Rawicz, Ralph Porrett and Roella Oloro) and rapturous applause to Alex and Ralph for getting through to the final.

Watch all 5 stellar finalists’ performances accompanied by NYJC teaching artists & supporters Nikki Yeoh, Mark Mondesir & Mark Mondesir. A truly incredible evening of magnificent jazz.

Hear semi-finalists Asha Parkinson & Emma Rawicz, members of the final’s house trio (Nikki Yeoh and Mark and Michael Mondesir) and one of the final’s judges (Zoe Rahman) share first-hand insights into the competition in their #NationalYouthJazz Wednesday conversations.

Prev 1 of 0 Next
Prev 1 of 0 Next